Lewiatan awards

Statuetka Lewiatana
Confederation Lewiatan grants two annual awards – Andrzej Wierzbicki Award for a successful businessman who has been involved in actions for the benefit of the environment where he or she operates. The award is granted to a person who not only manages his or her enterprise efficiently but also feels the need to get engaged in the process of improving the business environment and to support good social and economic initiatives – a person with a vision of responsible business.
Władysław Grabski Award is granted to a public figure who has given a significant contribution to the development of entrepreneurship. The award goes to a person who takes efforts to build a sound and strong national economy, just like Władysław Grabski used to do in his times.

Władysław Grabski
Władysław Grabski, a leading economic politician of the interwar period, in a short time managed to reform the public finance and had a great influence on development of the banking and currency systems in the crisis-stricken Polish economy. He realized that a strong state has to be based on sound economy. As a reformer, visionary and skillful politician, Grabski had a vital contribution in laying the foundations of the independent Poland’s economic development.

Andrzej Wierzbicki
Andrzej Wierzbicki, an MP, minister, political, economic activist, industrialist, founder and leader of the Central Union of Polish Industry, Mining, Trade, and Finance Lewiatan. He formed a powerful lobby struggling for clear rules of action in the economy. He consolidated Polish entrepreneurs. As a supporter of liberal economy, Wierzbicki had a strong influence on the government economic policy in the twenties and thirties of the 20th century, skilfully counteracting the increasingly strong etatist tendencies. He was a great organizer of the economy.

Award winners 2011
Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Jerzy Starak
Władysław Grabski Award - Bogdan Zdrojewski

Lewiatan Special Awards - Krystyna Janda, Aleksander Smolar  

Award winners 2010
Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Leszek Czarnecki
Władysław Grabski Award - Michał Boni

Lewiatan Special Award - Janusz Lewandowski

Award winners 2009
In 2009 due to occasional Awards of 10 th anniversary for the most distinguished persons for the  development of PKPP Lewiatan, there were no annual Lewiatan Awards.

Award winners 2008
Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Adam Góral
Władysław Grabski Award - Jerzy Buzek

Lewiatan Special Awards - Barbara Skarga and Marek Edelman

Award winners 2007
Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Solange and Krzysztof Olszewski
Władysław Grabski Award - Grażyna Gęsicka

Lewiatan Special Awards -
Danuta Hübner, Władysław Bartoszewski, Tadeusz Mazowiecki

Award winners 2006

Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Krzysztof Pawiński
Władysław Grabski Award - Dalia Grybauskaite

Lewiatan Special Awards - Wiesław Rozłucki and Jacek Socha

Award winners 2005

Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Piotr Soyka
Władysław Grabski Award - Jerzy Hausner

Lewiatan Special Award - Lech Wałęsa

Award winners 2004
Andrzej Wierzbicki Award - Adam and Jerzy Krzanowski
Władysław Grabski Award - Leszek Balcerowicz

The awards are handed during a traditional gala (see below selected pictures from previous years' galas) attended by award winners, the Competition Committee and leading representatives of the Polish business, politics and media.

Lewiatan Statue – the Lewiatan Statue was designed by Gustaw Zemła, one of the best known Polish sculptors, author of the Silesian Insurgents Monument in Katowice, the Monument of Władysław Broniewski in Płock, the Fallen but Unconquered Monument in Warsaw, the Statue of John Paul II in Mistrzejowice and the Monte Cassino Monument.

Award winners Lewiatan 2008 – picture gallery
Andrzej Wierzbicki Award winner for 2008
Adam Góral, Asseco Poland SA
Władysław Grabski Award winner for 2008
Jerzy Buzek, European Parliament member, former Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland

Lewiatan Special Award winner for 2008 - Barbara Skarga

Lewiatan Special Award winner for 2008 - Marek Edelman

Lewiatan Award winners for 2008 and participants of the debate "Message for the Future"

Stay in contact